“The Sky is Yours” by Chandler Klang Smith (Ft. Dragons, Snotty Characters, And My Overwhelming Disappointment)

Basically: This book was creative, but it unfortunately wasn’t for me. I actually applaud myself for making it through.


🐉 What’s the story about? 🐉

34837145

A sprawling, genre-defying epic set in a dystopian metropolis plagued by dragons, this debut about what it’s like to be young in a very old world is pure storytelling pleasure

In the burned-out, futuristic city of Empire Island, three young people navigate a crumbling metropolis constantly under threat from a pair of dragons that circle the skies. When violence strikes, reality star Duncan Humphrey Ripple V, the spoiled scion of the metropolis’ last dynasty; Baroness Swan Lenore Dahlberg, his tempestuous, death-obsessed betrothed; and Abby, a feral beauty he discovered tossed out with the trash; are forced to flee everything they’ve ever known. As they wander toward the scalded heart of the city, they face fire, conspiracy, mayhem, unholy drugs, dragon-worshippers, and the monsters lurking inside themselves. In this bombshell of a novel, Chandler Klang Smith has imagined an unimaginable world: scathingly clever and gorgeously strange, The Sky Is Yours is at once faraway and disturbingly familiar, its singular chaos grounded in the universal realities of love, family, and the deeply human desire to survive at all costs.

The Sky Is Yours is incredibly cinematic, bawdy, rollicking, hilarious, and utterly unforgettable, a debut that readers who loved Cloud Atlas, Super Sad True Love Story, and Blade Runner will adore.

“Beneath our city lies another city, carved into the earth, a city of hollowness, a city of emptiness, a city of negative space. Its skyline will never be revealed, not until that time in the future when our society’s final resting place is excavated and disturbed by a more advanced species.”

flower divider canva

🐉 Rating: ✦✧✧✧✧ 🐉

It begins with the dragons.

It begins, as all endings do, in the beginning, in the code that underwrites the whole of our experience, that first microscopic enchantment that brought the world to life. But for our purposes here, it begins in the bullet shop.

Truthfully? I avoid DNF-ing books with every fiber of being, but let me tell you, I was very, very, very tempted to DNF this.

(This is the part where I usually give a brief summary of the basic plot points. However, I’m disappointed to tell you that this book was just so confusing and all-over-the-place that I’ll be unable to do so.)

Upon first glance, The Sky is Yours seemed to promise all the elements I love in a story: a fantastical, futuristic world, solid friendships, and most importantly, DRAGONS. Unfortunately, all I found was the latter—the rest was absolutely not there. And even the dragons were so tedious? (How is that even possible. How can you make dragons unimaginative.)

I’ll admit, the book was very well-written and dense with pretty imagery and poetic metaphors. The genre blending added color to the already-chaotic plot. But even that couldn’t make up for the fact that everything was so insufferably boring.

The biggest problem I had with this was the characters and their development—more accurately, their lack thereof. It was a complete pain reading about spoiled Duncan-Humphrey-Ripple-Whatever, the insufferable Abby, and the bland Baroness. I quite literally felt like ripping my eyes out of my skull a grand total of ten times throughout the book.

Beneath our city lies another city, carved into the earth, a city of hollowness, a city of emptiness, a city of negative space. Its skyline will never be revealed, not until that time in the future when our society’s final resting place is excavated and disturbed by a more advanced species.

I could not bring myself to care about what happened to any of them because they were all such terrible people. Perhaps this is supposed to be satire, but I did not find anything funny, relevant, or thought-provoking about any of it. Not to mention that the characters’ actions are vaguely problematic and not at all fun to learn about.

I hate being so brutally honest, especially to a debuting author, but this is my unfiltered opinion.

🐉 Verdict 🐉

In conclusion? Skip this.With all the amazing books being released this year, you don’t want to waste your time.

Thank you to Crown Publishing for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

flower divider canva

Nab a Copy

Screen Shot 2017-08-27 at 1.53.05 AMScreen Shot 2017-08-27 at 1.53.37 AM

flower divider canva

sincerely,

Screen Shot 2017-08-27 at 5.18.21 PM


let us chat

In general, what makes you rate a book one star? What are your feelings on this book? What book has disappointed you lately? Also, aren’t dragons just the most wonderful creatures ever??

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s